A Little Scattered

So much has happened in the last two days, and it seems as if even more will come in the next two. It’s crazy to realize that the summer has just flown by this year: in 6 weeks, I’ll be moving back to school, even though it feels as if I’ve just come home for vacation.

Nevertheless, it’s apparent that time has passed, since this weekend marks the beginning of my annual Travel Week – a week that I spend (as you probably have guessed) travelling to various points of the country visiting family that I haven’t seen for a while. This year, I’m spending a weekend with my cousin in North Carolina (I swear I’m going to move there when I graduate) and 5 days with my grandmother in Florida. With all of the different activities I’ll be doing (travelling, pool, afternoon tea, shopping), it’s been hard to think clearly about what to pack. Thus, last night around 11 p.m., all of my thoughts culminated in a sort of “packing wall,” with index cards marking outfits suitable for each place, as well as individual cards with what all I need to pack. (please excuse the blurry photo – it was late and my iPod was right there)

I’ve been busy knitting up some hostess gifts for my cousin and grandmother – I’m knitting both of them washcloths (yes, I know, I’m obsessed), and wrapping some nice handmade soap in them, from a local place in Baton Rouge. I’m going today to get the soap, and hopefully TSA won’t have any problem with me travelling with it. (fingers crossed)

I’ve been finding that the hardest thing to think of to pack is knitting: do I bring just a washcloth? Or a hat? What about something with some more “substance”? It’s hard to know that I’ll have close to 12 hours of travel-time, as well as whatever down time I have with my grandmother. Over the past two weeks or so, I’ve been finding that my hands need something to do in the lazy moments – certainly, I can read a book or just hang out, but why just lie on the couch when you can lie on the couch and knit? I think it’s just difficult to figure things out because I never like to over-pack, and over-packing yarn seems like a bit of a waste of space, considering that it’ll all be in my tote bag carry-on, which isn’t all that huge to begin with. I don’t want to bring a lot of needles, which means that really I can bring any projects that require the same sized needles – namely, a washcloth that is on the needles right now and perhaps yarn for a hat (along with the coordinating dpns to finish the hat).

In the meantime, I’ve been working on a multitude of projects – the never-ending dorm blanket and washcloths being the majority of things.

  • The third and final dishcloth for myself (for now) has been stalled on the needles for the last couple of days.

  • I finished two more repeats for the dorm blanket – it’s about 1/3 of the way of being done (hopefully), even though I still have 4 1/2 more skeins of the brown yarn.

  • I’ve started and completed a dishcloth for Rachel, which will wrap up a slab of homemade soap from a local vendor. I love the variegated blues – it was all plied together, so I didn’t have to worry about the colors pooling.

  • I’m about 1/3 of the way done with my grandmother’s dishcloth, and I hope to finish that up today or early tomorrow so that I can steam block it before I see her on Sunday.

It has grown a fair amount – I’m now about 1/4 of the way done with the letter ‘E’

I bought two other skeins of cotton yarn to make dishcloths (I thought I would make two for each Rachel and my grandmother), but I’m not quite sure what to do with them. There’s a part of me that wouldn’t mind putting them in my forthcoming Wonder Blanket (it’s made of ‘scrap’ yarn mostly, but I think this could work).

Yesterday, I also received the yarn for my sweater(!!!!), and though I haven’t wound it or started swatching, I’ve been having an awfully hard time not just jumping right in and beginning the sweater. The color is absolutely gorgeous, and though the yarn is a little scratchier than I hoped it would be, it will still knit up beautifully (I hope). Blizzard, one of our cats, had a grand ol’ time playing with the box the yarn came in.

In other news, I’ve been thinking more about making blankets – they’re practical for the dorm rooms and easy as all get out – the Wonder Blanket is one that I’ve been looking forward to starting, but I’ve also been drawn to the idea of making a single Granny Square into a lap blanket. Any thoughts?

I hope that everyone is enjoying their summers – what have you been up to? Has the time seemed to fly by for you as well? Do you have any big plans for the rest of vacation? I’ve been trying to keep mine in check, but you’ve seen how that has turned out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

