Happy birthday, America!

Today’s holiday should have been used for studying, after all, what’s more American than apple pie, hot dog eating contests, and Introduction to Microeconomics? Instead, I’ve slept in and have knit. Yup, that’s it.

I finished another Miranda Hat for charity (pictures to come on Friday), and have started knitting an initialed washcloth out of the Ecru color (the cream-ish skein from this picture). I’m putting a ‘C’ on it, and will follow this one up with two others, both with ‘E’s knit into them – that way, when they’re all put together, they’ll be my full initials.

I haven’t quite gotten to the initialed part of the washcloth yet, but I’m just sitting here with pretzels, Beckett (my camera), and the directions, chugging away at it. As much as I love making hats, I found that I was getting a bit bored of them … and truth be told, I’m feeling a tad like a traitor for using the green color for the hats  (it’s the color of my college’s rival school). Hopefully using cream and blues will help wash away some of the filth that comes with knitting with that color … before I have to pick it up again, since I have about 500 yards remaining to use up.

I’m hoping to finish the washcloths quickly, since I can’t cast on another hat until these needles free up. I leave next Friday to travel for a week, and am hoping to have a hat on the needles by then. Unfortunately, I’ve been finding that knitting with cotton dries out my hands (I wonder why that doesn’t happen when I wear cotton clothing …), so the going is slow. If I like the way the pattern comes out, I know that I’ll make some washcloths for my mom, perhaps for her birthday or the holidays.

In other news, I finally took the plunge and ordered yarn for my Lightweight Pullover. I recently fell in love with Quince & Co. and Hannah Fettig‘s designs, and have been itching to start this sweater – I think it would be a perfect dorm study sweater – something to throw on with a pair of jeans or sweatpants and just hunker down to study. Doesn’t it look so cozy?

I had some trouble deciding between fingering and dk weight yarn, so I compromised and ordered sport: this yarn, in fact.  In the sagebrush colorway.Hopefully I’ll get it in the next week or so – I can’t wait to see the color!

I’m hoping to start this sweater by the end of July, just in time for the Ravellenic Games 2012! For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, the Games are knitting events that correspond with the Olympic Games – there are spin-offs from the real events, as well as some made-up ones especially for knitters. Throughout the Games, I’ll be “competing” in Baby Dressage, Sweater Triathlon, Charity Rowing, Hat Dash, Synchronized Stash Busting, and Single Skein Sprint. It’s a lot of events, but most of the items will cross-count in multiple categories.

Do you have any special plans for the 4th of July? What about the Olympic Games?

3 Comments

Filed under WIPs

3 responses to “Happy birthday, America!

  1. Pingback: Yarn-a-holic | Knitting Through College

  2. just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that i have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. any way i’ll be subscribing to your feed and i hope you post again soonhttp://www.casaemail.com.br

  3. Thank you! I try to post every other day or so – I’m glad you like the posts!

Leave a Reply

