Blog-A-Long and Travel Plans

Over the past couple of days, I’ve been busy running errands to get ready for my upcoming trip to North Carolina and Florida (eep!), but have also had a substantial amount of time to peruse Ravelry and other blogs. What I stumbled across is a blog-a-long, called a Year of Projects (Year 2). With this, everyone motivates each other to finish the projects we’ve set out to finish at the start of the year (in this case, July 1st).

I’m taking part in this mostly because I need to be held ‘responsible’ for my yarn addiction – I don’t necessarily want to buy all the yarn that I’ve been buying and then start projects only to leave them half-finished once school begins. By checking in with other bloggers, not only do I meet a lot of people and read more blogs, but I have made a sore of promise to someone regarding what I want to accomplish.

So, without further ado, my list of projects I’d like to complete in the next year:

  • Lightweight Pullover for a study sweater – I’ve already bought the yarn for this, and have plans to knit it during the Olympics
  • Featherweight Cardigan by Hannah Fettig – this was the other pattern I was considering to make during the Olympics
  • Finish the dorm blanket – ideally before school starts, though that may be hard with travelling and moving
  • Begin/continue the Wonder Blanket made of scraps
  • I’d love to wind all of my yarn, and this may be something that’s ongoing during school breaks and whatnot, since I have no idea how much yarn I have up north
  • I’d really like to complete at least 15 hats/scarves for SWAP (Scarves With A Purpose), the knitting group on campus, since it’s always nice to knit for charity, and it would definitely give me a break from school, and a chance to socialize with fellow knitters
  • Learn how to knit socks. I have yarn coming, but I’m somewhat nervous that the yarn will just sit in my stash for a while.
  • Crochet a granny square afghan/lap blanket – ideally, I could get an ombre look using this yarn, and I think it would be great as a gift (for who, I have no idea)
  • I’d also like to do more colorwork – perhaps a yoke sweater? I’ve been drawn to this one and this one (though the second one seems to be written in Norwegian)

Well, that’s it for now. I’m sure other various projects will pop up along the way, but these are the main goals I have for the year. I hope I have time for them all! What are your goals for the year? Do does your to-do list ever seem overly ambitious?

 

With that, I leave you for a week so that I can travel. I can try to post perhaps next week, but uninterrupted blogging/Internet time is far from guaranteed. I’ll try to put some stuff in queue so that y’all aren’t bored. How does that sound?

 

6 Comments

Filed under Year of Projects

6 responses to “Blog-A-Long and Travel Plans

  1. Ruth

    Great list and I hope you enjoy it with us at YOP. I love both your olympic projects and I’m sure we can help and advise on socks !, there are many talented ladies in the group who knit socks and who helped me accomplish my first pair last year for my YOP last year.

  2. Sounds like a great list, challenging but not too restrictive

  3. I’m glad to see that there are a few of us that have projects that we need to “learn”… as that is where I’m at!

  4. The lightweight pullover is delish! Happy knitting. socks aren’t as scary as you think..just take them one row at a time!

  5. the pullover looks delish. socks aren’t as scary as you might think. Just take it one row at a time

  6. So many blanket goals! I have yet to commit to knitting one, though I really want to own one. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

