Almost Done, and Ambitions

For the last couple of days, I’ve been plugging along on my never-ending dorm afghan to try to keep my mind off of my soon-to-be-knit Lightweight Pullover. This afghan has been in the making for most of the summer, and though I always try to chip away at it row by row, this pattern seems to be stuck in the eternal vortex of knitting: no matter how many pattern repeats I knit, the blanket never grows any longer. Have you ever had that happen? After some frustrations, I decided to actually measure the darn thing, to see exactly how much longer I’m going to have to deal with the eternal-blanket-from-heck, and found out that I’m supposedly about halfway done. Here’s a picture snapped last night – it doesn’t seem that large, does it?

Yeah, I didn’t think so either. When it’s on my lap, it seems huge, but when laid on a bed, it barely covers a third of it. I figured that I needed 10 more repeats in order to hit the point where the pattern says that I should stop, but considering I have 4 more skeins of the caramel colored yarn (that’s roughly half of what I bought originally), I think I’m going to keep plugging along at it until I just want to bind off.

With all this griping, don’t get me wrong – I absolutely love the way that the pattern is coming along, and if I had actually followed the directions and knit in a bulky yarn, I don’t think I would be having this problem. But you see, a stupid cocky college student (read: me) decided that I didn’t want to spend the money for bulky weight yarn, so instead knitting double with two DK weight yarns would suffice. The blanket sure is cozy, but it seems to go by so slowly – I was hoping to have this done by the end of August to take to my dorm room, but what with the Ravellenic Games starting on Friday, I already know that the afghan will be on the back burner while I try to whip out my Lightweight Pullover.

Another thing that really isn’t helping this giant monster that has taken over my room is the fact that all of the autumn sweaters are luring me to knit them. And yes, I do mean all of them. I’ve had requests from other people (read: an old mentor and my brother) to knit them sweaters (or in the case of my mentor, knit his son a sweater). I’ve been perusing through patterns and finally have decided on the Candlestick pattern for the little boy, and am still planning to knit the Drops pattern for my brother.

But that’s not all, oh no, because my brain refuses to believe that knitting sweaters and cardigan could really take all that long, I’ve also gone through most all of Hannah Fettig‘s (aka Knitbot) designs and have made a list of the things I want to knit: everything. I’m being honest – my Yarn to Buy list has 4 of her patterns on it, including another Lightweight Pullover! A picture for proof:

So yes, I am somehow going to complete projects totaling over 7,000 yards of yarn/wool by, you guessed it, the end of the year. (Also, I’m not sure why I seem to have an obsession with Lion Brand’s LB 1878 yarn … other than you can buy it in bulk) After I finish the toddler sweater, and perhaps my brother’s (I’m still deciding whether I want to take it on), I think I’ll start the Effortless Cardigan – I think it would be a nice fall/winter sweater. Granted, I won’t be heart-broken if I don’t finish, but I really would love to have some nice spring cardigans (Featherweight and Breezy being the favorites) when Michigan decides to finally warm up, and just the thought of knitting with fingering yarn during the winter time sounds glorious.

If all those projects aren’t ambitious enough, I stopped by the library today. You’ll soon learn: that’s never a good thing. I came out with 4 knitting books, but they’re mostly just for some ideas and techniques. I’ve already gone through two of them and they’re ready to be returned to the library – don’t worry, no sticky notes flagging pages and pages of projects that just must be knit. Do you ever have that problem too?

I think that the Ravellenic Games are just getting me so excited for starting projects, not to mention the fact that Project: Stash is talking about knitting her own wardrobe for the next 6 months. She has even discussed the possibility of a Knit-a-long! I’m not sure if I’d join, but I guess it depends on the pattern. What’s on your to-knit list? Do you ever get a bit overly ambitious when planning projects?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Almost Done, and Ambitions

  1. VERY MUCH! I am WAAAY ambitious, have you seen my YOP list on my blog? it’s insane! but your energy is wearing off on me! :0)

Leave a Reply

