On your marks, get set, KNIT

Unfortunately, I don’t have any FO to show you this Friday, so instead, I’ll catch you up on what’s been going on in my knitting.

After I posted on Wednesday, I went out to JoAnn’s and went slightly overboard in buying wool – but it was only $0.80 per skein ($0.97 on clearance, then each was 20% off with a coupon). I did the only mature thing and bought 20 skeins – 3 are for a toddler sweater for my mentor’s kid, 2 are for Miranda Hats, and 15 are for a sweater for myself.

Yarn for the Candlestick toddler sweater

Yesterday I basically just hung around and knit – mostly on the blanket, though I finished a round or two of the latest Miranda Hat. For some reason, I just don’t really have any motivation to finish it. Maybe it’s because I can use that as knitting on the plane to visit Michigan! (My parents surprised me with tickets to fly and see my friends for a week) I just bought more yarn to make other Miranda Hats, so I’m hoping that the new colors and yarn will re-excite me to make them. Aren’t the colors just so pretty?

I’ve slowly been making some progress on the never-ending Dorm Blanket, but it honestly doesn’t look as if I’ve lengthened it at all – have you ever had problems like that? It is so demoralizing to do one or two repeats, then hold it out and it doesn’t look any bigger. I just bought another pound of the pink/coral/persimmon color yarn so that I can continue the blanket (that was the real reason for going to JoAnn’s), but I’ve somewhat given up on the idea that this blanket will be done before I head off for college.

Today marks the beginning of the Ravellenic Games, and I’m counting down the hours until 3 p.m. so that I can cast on and begin my Lightweight Pullover. I’m really hoping to finish this in a week or so, since I have so many other projects I want to do. Project: Stash just started a Fall Sweater KAL, where we can knit whatever sweaters we want, but they should be done by the end of August – it’s not so much a KAL as a motivational thing – I’m hoping to finish the Lightweight Pullover and the Candlestick before August, and am hoping to cast on the Cool Cardigan in the wool that I just bought for another fall/winter sweater for my wardrobe (the cream, grey, and teal in the bottom 3 rows of the yarn pyramid). It has been great getting input from other knitters on patterns to use the wool for, since my searches didn’t really come up with anything – I’m loving the idea of raglans, since they don’t have any seams, and this cardigan seems just perfect with the three stripes and the weight of the yarn.

I hope that y’all have a wonderful weekend – I’ll probably knit and watch the Olympics for most of it, since my dad is keeping it low-key after having some oral surgery yesterday (don’t worry, he’s fine, just a little sluggish). What are your plans for the weekend? Is anyone participating in the Ravellenic Games? If so, what events?

3 Comments

Filed under WIPs, Year of Projects

3 responses to “On your marks, get set, KNIT

  1. Very nice colors! I just knit some fingerless mitts with Bamboo Ewe and they’re great. I think I’m going to work on some WIPs for the Ravellenic Games and maybe some Monster Chunks.

  2. ooh i am so happy i found your blog!!! yay!! will be following you now! love your JoAnn’s find! jealous!

  3. Nice shopping! That is cheap, and the colours are great. And Im knitting a sweater as well for the games. No way I’ll finish it though!

Leave a Reply

